Public Document Pack

Council

Minutes of Proceedings

At the Extraordinary Meeting of the District Council of Ryedale held in the Council Chamber, Ryedale House, Malton on Thursday 5 September 2013

Present

Councillors J Andrews

Arnold Clark Collinson Mrs Cowling Cussons

Mrs Frank (Chairman)

Mrs Goodrick

Hicks Hope

Mrs Hopkinson (Vice-Chairman)

Mrs Keal Maud

Mrs Sanderson Wainwright Woodward

In Attendance

Simon Copley Paul Cresswell Janet Waggott Anthony Winship

Minutes

45 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Acomb, Bailey, Mrs Burr, Fraser, Legard, Raper, Richardson, Mrs Shields and Walker.

The Chairman of the Council, Councillor Mrs J Frank, to state the object of the Extraordinary Meeting

The Chairman explained that Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 gave authority for the District Council at a specially convened meeting to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on a former Councillor who, in the opinion of Council, had rendered eminent service to the community. Mr Keith Knaggs,

had distinguished himself by satisfying that criteria, and, accordingly, this Special Meeting had been convened.

47 Any correspondence, communications or other business brought forward by the direction of the Chairman

No correspondence, communications or other business was brought forward by the direction of the Chairman.

48 Councillor Mrs C Goodrick to move and Councillor J S Clark to second the motion:

Councillor Mrs Goodrick moved and Councillor Clark seconded:

"That pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of Ryedale District Council be conferred upon

Keith Anthony Knaggs

in recognition of the eminent service rendered by him as a Councillor of the Ryedale District Council from 1991 to 2013."

On being put to the vote, this motion was unanimously approved.

The Chairman of the Council then made a presentation of the Honorary Alderman's Illuminated Address and Plaque.

Honorary Alderman K A Knaggs responded to debate and thanked Council for conferment of the honour.

The meeting closed at 3.25pm.